In The Early Part Of 1962 Several People Got Together And Discussed The Possibilities Of Showing Off The Steam Engines They Had Restored. The Group Organized That Summer And Was Invited To Billings Missouri For Their First Show. The Show Date Was September 21, 22, 23, And 24, 1962. The First President Was Leonard Yarbrough Of Springfield. Hal Carlock Was The First Secretary. The First Show Was A Big Success And The Group Made Plans For A Second Show. During The Fall Of 1962 And Early 1963 The Group Was Able To Purchase 17 Acres 2 Miles East Of Republic, Missouri On The South Side Of Highway US 60. This Was To Be The Permanent Home Of The Ozarks Steam Engine Association Inc. The Second Year Officers Were Leonard Yarbrough President And Clovis Burrell Secretary. The Second Show Was Held On August 30th, 31st And September 1st And 2nd 1963. It Has Grown Each Year Since. They Have Added To The Park Twice Making It A Total Of 34 Acres. Today There Is A Building That Houses A Large Stationary Steam Boiler And Several Stationary Engines. There Is A “Steam Motel” For Storage Of The Traction Engines. There Is A Sawmill That Is Used Every Year And Is Covered. The Greatest Thing Was The Addition Of The Flush Bathrooms And Showers. It Is A Beautiful Park That Comes Alive 10 Days After Labor Day For A Four Day Reunion. The Steam Club Meets Every Other Month On The Second Saturday Night At Places To Be Announced.

2023 Ozarks Steam Engine Association’s Officers And Board Of Directors:

President: Dana Erickson

Vice President: Josh McCauley

Secretary: Shelley Elliott

Treasurer: Randy McCauley

Board of Directors: Chris Garrett, Bill McHaffie, Jeff Ruth, and Larry Voris